Skip to content

Introduction to the 7 Chakras – Their Meanings

The chakra system is an age-old ancient system consisting of seven key energy centers found within the astral body.  The Astral body, which was philosophised first by Plato, is known as the spiritual counterpart to the physical body and is well known to the Yogic community.

Metaphorically speaking, Chakras resemble spinning wheels that control the flow of energy within the body stretching from the base of our spine, all the way to the crown of our head.  If any of these wheels become too open or blocked, the flow of energy is disturbed which in turn upsets our overall sense of health and wellbeing.  Chakras are also called lotuses; Just as the beautiful Lotus blossoms on the water’s surface, under the light of the Sun, so too can our Chakras blossom when we use our mind and body in the right way.

Each individual Chakra radiates a unique vibration, colour and sound which correspond to specific nerve bundles, glands & major organs within the physical body.  Having a conscious awareness of these energy centers and striving for balance between them is in essence, the practice of yoga.

Why Are The 7 Chakras so Important?

We are all beings booming abundant amounts of energy. We are proficient in channeling energy from the universe into ourselves, and vice versa, meaning that we have the potential to use this transmission of energy to boost our lives in an extremely positive way.  But this energy does not flow randomly. Our bodies have exact nodes at which this energy is focused; gaining self control over these nodes and having full access to your Chakras has the power to be life changing, and not just for you, but for all those around you who come to encompass your positive vibrations.

Chakra work can also be thought of as healing healing work.  When harmonized and activated using certain techniques, they have been said to have prevented severe illnesses and even cured disease.

Gaining mastery over your 7 Chakras can also be used to release tension in your life by removing negative energies within your body which accumulate over time.

We all experience an imbalance of sorts from time to time due to emotional, physical, spiritual, or mental causes; each influences the other; however, many healers consider that the primary cause of all imbalance is eventually spiritual.  Channeling your 7 Chakras and activating your spiritual body can change your life.

7 ways To Change Your Life By Focusing On Your 7 Chakras:

The best way for advancing equilibrium in a chakra is to change the arrangement in your physical body first before moving on to the mental aspect.

1.  Yoga

Yoga seeks to stimulate and balance these chakras or energy centers within the body.  Specific yoga postures are linked directly to each Chakra therefore you can focus your attention accordingly.  Learn more with this simple guided Chakra routine.

2.  Breathing exercises

This method is directly Intertwined with Yoga and is fundamental when learning how to control your nervous system.  Controlling your body & emotional state with specific breath work has proven to be extremely effective.  Follow this short and simple guided routine by Yogafiona_UK 

3.  Meditation

Becoming ever more popular in our western world and has  been scientifically proven to reduce stress and anxiety.  The Waking Up App, developed by neuroscientist Sam Harris, opens the door to a deeper understanding of yourself  by combining daily meditations with practical theory work.  Try it for FREE

4.  Reflection

Achieving clarity of mind an exploring who you truly are is of the utmost importance when we talk about finding inner harmony.  The art of journaling can kickstart your journey to inner peace

5.  Diet

Ever heard that saying, “you are what you eat”…There is truth in this.  Where do we come from really?  We are soil.  Food, as well as every living being, originates from soil.  Discover the connection between who you are and what you eat by eating fresh foods and minimizing processed food.  Better yet, grow your own produce, you will be amazed with the wisdom this brings.  Learn more with GrowingFamily

6.  Visualisation

Chakras respond best to sound and color vibrations. All of them resonate in tune with a particular color, as well as a particular musical note or tone. By imagining the colors and tones of each chakra, you can restore your chakras to their original levels of brightness, vitality, and clarity.  Read more.

7.  Slow down

This is very important because your chakras work best when they are moving at just the right pace for you, not anybody else, not too fast nor too slow; find your own pace of life to ensure your Chakras are rotating smoothly.  Kinfolk embody the art of slow living should you wish to embrace the slow life.


You will be astonished at the differences you will feel within yourself when your chakras are all balanced, stimulated, and finely tuned.  Create space to work on your spiritual body today.

Love & Blessings…hygëia

Journol by Hygeia

Jessy Deans is a copywriter with a strong appetite for thought-provoking stories, travel and anything covered in white chocolate. With a background working in the fast-paced television industry, she has learnt the importance of self-care and downtime and believes there’s no such thing as too many candles. She is passionate and committed to her lifelong search for the perfect meal and subscribes to the doctrine that ‘if you can’t love yourself, how are you going to love somebody else’ (Ru Paul).

Early bird discounts for a limited time only!